1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Computer science minor for a physics major

1. Oct 27, 2016 #1
    Hello PF,
    I am a physics sophomore this year and i took a course on java programming as an elective. And i just loved it!
    Really the harder it became the more i liked it. So i decided that i want to do something about it. But i don't know if a minor or a major is better for a physics major. And what part of C.S. should i learn that can help me too. ( if you have any info. on what side of CS is better for what field of physics i would be glad )
    Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 27, 2016 #2

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

Programming is interesting, but if you look at he courses required for a computer science minor you will probably see topics like "analysis of algorithms" , "database design", and "compiler design" that are heavily theoretical. Make sure you like that sort of thing before you get into a program where those will be required courses.

(If you want specific advice, you can list the courses that your university requires for a CS minor and major.)

Courses in numerical analysis related to physics will give you a workout in programming, without a commitment to theoretical computer science.

4. Oct 27, 2016 #3
    My university requires for a minor :
    _introduction to programming ( that i am taking now).

_discrete structures

_intermediate programming with data structure

_algorithms and data structures

And 2 other courses of my choice in the field.

Do you think it it too theoretical?
    How much of it can be used in practice?
    And also can i do some programming without a minor in it? Like on a professional level ?
    (Not that i want a job in programming but i want something more advanced ).
    Thanks