Confused on why this subspace spans R^3, matrices fun

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem involving determining if a set of vectors is a subspace of R^3. The criteria for a subspace includes having the zero vector, closure under addition, and closure under multiplication. The set of vectors in question is (r-1, 3s, t) where r, s, and t are real numbers. The conversation also touches on the confusion of whether or not this set spans R^3 and the conditions for it to fail as a subspace.
mr_coffee
I'm studying for my exam on monday and i saw ap roblme that says:
Determine if the following is a subspace of R^3.
For it to be a subspace it has to pass
1) must have the zero vector
2) closure under addition
3) closure under multiplaication

here is my work:
http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/8067/lastscan1qn.jpg

now it fails because it r1+r1-2 right? but why? because why wouldn't
3(s1+s2) also fail? because ur getting a different number if u like say, let s1 and s2 be 1, or r1 and 2 be 1, so did they both fail? Also if there was say

What if there were only 2 variables, only r and s, and U = [r s r], r & s are in R, now would this automaticallya not be a subpsace in R^3?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
mr_coffee said:
I'm studying for my exam on monday and i saw ap roblme that says:
Determine if the following is a subspace of R^3.
For it to be a subspace it has to pass
1) must have the zero vector
2) closure under addition
3) closure under multiplaication
here is my work:
http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/8067/lastscan1qn.jpg
now it fails because it r1+r1-2 right? but why? because why wouldn't
3(s1+s2) also fail? because ur getting a different number if u like say, let s1 and s2 be 1, or r1 and 2 be 1, so did they both fail?