1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Conservation of Momentum Fluids Question

1. Oct 19, 2016 #1

joshmccraney

Gold Member

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am studying for an upcoming exam and stumbled upon a website with a bunch of practice problems. I would typically state the question but this one is so long and requires a picture so here is the hyperlink to it: http://web.mit.edu/2.25/www/5_10/5_10.html

2. Relevant equations
    Bernoulli, mass/momentum conservation.

3. The attempt at a solution
    I'll write out the equations I have (I'm not interested in actually solving them, just want to know I can set it up). Applying conservation of mass yields $$2 \pi r^2 V_1 = \pi R^2 V_2$$. Bernoulli yields $$\frac{P_1}{\rho}+\frac{V_1^2}{2} = \frac{P_2}{\rho}+\frac{V_2^2}{2}$$ Conservation of momentum is $$2 \pi r^2 V_1^2 \hat{r} + \pi R^2 V_2^2 \hat{x} = -2 \pi r^2 P_1\hat{r} - \pi R^2 P_2\hat{x} - F_{wall} \hat{x}$$

where ##F_{wall}## is the force the wall exerts on the control volume. Let me know if I should explain anything I wrote. Thanks so much for looking this over!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 23, 2016 #2

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

I do not understand your momentum equation. ##\hat r## is not a single direction. What is the total momentum of the inflow in the x direction?
    Why are you adding the inflow and outflow momenta?
    Is the minus sign in front of the F supposed to be an equals sign? Or maybe = - F ...?

4. Oct 24, 2016 #3

joshmccraney

Gold Member