Continue EE or change to Physics and Astronomy

In summary, the conversation discusses a student's dilemma about whether to switch from an Electrical Engineering (EE) major to a Physics major. The student has a strong interest in physics and is considering pursuing a PhD in the field, but is concerned about job opportunities and the potential need for an additional year of study. They seek advice and mention the possibility of dual-majoring in Physics and Astronomy, as well as considering getting a Master's degree in a field of EE that aligns with their interest in physics. The conversation also touches on the differences in career prospects and job readiness between EE and Physics majors.
Doppz
I'm currently a second-year student in EE at a large state school (top 30, I think). I chose EE when I applied, but I never really put any thought towards what major I wanted. I had taken AP physics, etc in high school and was always pretty good in math and sciences, so people told me to go with engineering. I chose electrical because I heard from a couple people that it involved a lot of math. However, now I am starting to question that decision.

I've found that I have a stronger desire to pursue just physics and am strongly considering changing majors. However, if I did change to physics, I would most likely have to add a fifth year to my BS. This is both good and bad, though. By adding a fifth year I can actually dual-major in Physics and Astronomy with ease, and could probably even add a math major or minor (I've taken a good deal of math classes already). Another potential downside is that the Physics program at my school requires a lot of GECs as well as a foreign language. If I stick with EE, I have no more GECs (and no foreign language requirement), whereas I'd have to take atleast four or five more GECs with Physics.