Comsol Modeling of Convection in Glass Optical Fiber

In summary, the conversation is about developing a simple model in Comsol to analyze convective currents and velocity fields in a glass optical fiber at certain temperatures. The person requesting help has limited experience with Comsol and is looking for pointers or examples to help them. The suggestion is made to visit the Comsol website for helpful examples.
Coffinspire15
I need to develop a simple model in Comsol, but I have no experience with it. I need to see what the convective currents and velocity fields are at certain temperatures in a glass optical fiber. I have the information about the fiber and its dimensions. The fiber is going to be at around its glass transition state so it be like taffy. It's just cylindrical fiber surrounded by air. Can anyone send some pointers, or a pdf example that is similar, etc? Any help is appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
you can go to comsol website. there have many example that i think you can used. i am also start to learning some example from there & it is very good example and easy to follow.

1. What is Comsol Modeling and how does it work?

Comsol Modeling is a software package that allows scientists and engineers to create and simulate complex physical systems using mathematical models. It works by solving a system of equations based on the physical laws and properties of the system being studied, providing a visual representation of the system's behavior.

2. What is the importance of modeling convection in glass optical fiber?

Modeling convection in glass optical fiber is important because it allows us to understand and predict the heat transfer and fluid flow within the fiber, which can affect the performance and reliability of optical communication systems. It also helps in optimizing the design of optical fiber for various applications.

3. How does Comsol Modeling simulate convection in glass optical fiber?