COMSOL Modeling help (ambient air around a thermoelectric module)

In summary, the conversation is about how to model ambient air around a thermoelectric module in COMSOL. The person is new to the software and is seeking help or examples. They mention being able to provide screenshots or .mph files. The other person suggests using the Heat Transfer module in COMSOL and provides links to examples for both still air and convection.
ChadThePianist
Hello everyone, I am wondering how to model ambient air around a thermoelectric module in COMSOL. I am fairly new to the software and am doing undergraduate research revolved around it. Any help or pertinent examples would be appreciated. I can send/post screenshots and or .mph files if it would be valuable.

~ Chad

Physics news on Phys.org
How complicated does the modelling of air need to be? Simulating still air is easy, convection not so much...

DrClaude said:
How complicated does the modelling of air need to be? Simulating still air is easy, convection not so much...
Still air will be okay. Quite honestly, I am not so experienced with thermo to know how convecting air will behave differently. I l just need some blocks of air on the bottom of the TE and for the model to work and compile in a time dependent frame.

1. What is COMSOL modeling?

COMSOL modeling is a software tool used for simulating and solving complex physical problems in various fields of science and engineering. It uses finite element analysis (FEA) to create virtual models and predict the behavior of real-life systems.

2. How can COMSOL help with modeling ambient air around a thermoelectric module?

COMSOL can help by providing a platform for creating a virtual model of the thermoelectric module and its surrounding air. By inputting the relevant parameters and boundary conditions, the software can simulate and analyze the heat transfer and fluid flow in the system, providing valuable insights and predictions for optimizing the module's performance.