Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Crazy physics problem! (big debate in my high school)

1. Feb 21, 2008 #1
    Ok im new to physics forum but im sure if im going to get help ill probably get it here, this problem has gone UNSOLVED by everyone who has tried it to include my physics and calculus teacher.
    Here is the problem:
    There is an object 10 earth radii from the CENTER of earth, it is released with zero initial velocity, how long will it take to hit the surface of earth assuming no atmosphere?

Obviously gravity increases as the object moves closer to earth, i found the integral of force of gravity versus distance from one earth radius from center, to 10 earth radii away to get the work done on the object, changed it to the kinetic energy at moment of impact, and got my final velocity. My final velocity was 10608.1 m/sec, I plugged this into Vf^2=Vi^2 + 2ad to solve for what i thought would be sort of an "average" acceleration, i got a= 0.9799 m/sec^2, plugged this into Vf=Vi+at, solved for T and got 10825.6 seconds, or about 3 hours.

I dont know if im even close to right as i've never tried a question like this before, any help would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2008 #2
    Oh, this isnt a hw problem my teachers and my friends are just really curious at how to even attempt this problem.

4. Feb 21, 2008 #3

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Without calculus you can work out an estimate by doing it in steps.
    Calculate the force at a distance of 10radii, and so the acceleration and the time taken to move say 0.1radii.
    Then repeat at 9.9radii and so on ( a spreadsheet might help!)
    Remember the solution ends at 1radii not zero.

You can also write a differential equation for the force and acceleartion as a function of distance - but this approach will at least give you an answer to check against.