Creating & Populating String Arrays in C

In summary, the conversation discusses the proper way to create an array of strings in C and how to populate one of the elements using the gets() function. It is important to properly initialize each pointer in the array and to use memory management techniques to avoid errors and efficiently store strings. The conversation also mentions different ways of allocating and storing strings, including on the stack or in the heap.
jpatterson
I'm new to C, so this is probably a dumb question, but I'd appreciate help. If I create (or think I create, anyway) an array of strings with:

char *array_name[10]

and then try to populate an element of the array with:

gets(array_name[0])

everything compiles ok, but I get a runtime error complaining about an access violation.

What is the proper way to create an array of strings and populate one of the elements of the array using gets?

Thanks in advance.

Technology news on Phys.org
update - I missed the * in the declaration of array of pointers. You need to initialize the 10 pointers before you use them.

Last edited:
I'm sorry, I wasn't being clear. What I'm trying to do is create an array of strings. I.e. string1 string2, string3. I was guessing at *array_name[10], but apparently that just creates one string (with room for 10 characters). How do I create the array of strings.

Notice the difference between the declaration "char buffer[80];" and "char* str;". The first allocates an array of 80 characters and let buffer point to the first of these characters, while the later declaration only declares a pointer to a character array. In your declaration "char* array[10];" you allocate an array of 10 character pointers, but you do not initialize each pointer to any sensible value (like an allocated array), hence "gets(array[0])" will pass a null or garbage pointer to gets which will then try to store characters in a place in memory it shouldn't.