1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Degree level vector help required.

1. Mar 6, 2006 #1
    Hi folks first post, i am a 20yr old student from north-west england, hope you guys can help me and i can return the favour some time.

1) How can the vector product be used to show two vectors are orthogonal to eachother?
    a=2i-5j+3k
    b=-i+j+k

2)How can the vector product be used to show an expression for the area of a triangle using the below co-ordinates?
    (2,0,1) (3,1,7) (-2,5,5)

3)Using two lines...
    L1: r=p+λn L2: s=q+µm
    where...
    p=8i+9j+3k
    n=i+j
    q=-2i-4j+k
    m=i+2j

...and a suitable minimum distance forumla, find the shortest distance between the two lines, providing a straight line indicates this distance, find the position vectors of these two connecting points, one on each line.

Many thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 6, 2006 #2
  4. Mar 6, 2006 #3
    I know what the vector product is mate i just don't know how to answer the question, as for 2, can you clarify, how do i put this into three dimensions for an actual result?

5. Mar 7, 2006 #4
    Well if 2 vectors are othogonal, you'll get [tex]\sin \theta=1[/tex]. Then you just show that [tex]|u \times v| = |u||v|[/tex], which just involves you sitting there and working it out manually.

For the second question, you're given the position of the triangles vertices, so you can derive vector expressions for the sides. Then, you can see from the link I posted that the area of a triangle is the half the product of 2 sides times sin of the angle between them. Sound familiar, its