Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Derivative of the mixed metric tensor

1. Jun 16, 2015 #1
    So i am studying GR at the moment, and I've been trying to figure out what the derivative (not covarient) of the mixed metric tensor $$\delta^\mu_\nu$$ would be, since this tensor is just the identity matrix surely its derivative should be zero. Yet at the same time $$\delta^\mu_\nu = g_{\alpha\nu}g^{\alpha\mu}$$ which means $$\partial_\beta \delta^\mu_\nu = g_{\alpha\nu}\partial_\beta g^{\alpha\mu} + g^{\alpha\mu}\partial_\beta g_{\alpha\nu}$$ so I cannot see why it would be equal to zero. Can anybody help me out?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 16, 2015 #2

ChrisVer

Gold Member

you proved that ##g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu} = - g^{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g_{\mu \nu}##

another way (the "stupid" way) is:

[itex]g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu} = g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta ( g^{\rho \mu} g^{\sigma \nu} g_{\rho \sigma})[/itex]

Applying a chain derivative:

[itex] g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu} = g_{\mu \nu}g^{\rho \mu} g^{\sigma \nu} \partial_\beta g_{\rho \sigma} + g_{\mu \nu}g^{\rho \mu} g_{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g^{\sigma \nu} + g_{\mu \nu}g^{\sigma \mu} g_{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g^{\rho \nu}[/itex]

[itex]g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu} = g^{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g_{\rho \sigma} + \delta_{\nu}^\rho g_{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g^{\sigma \nu} + \delta_{\nu}^\sigma g_{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g^{\rho \nu} [/itex]

The last two is just [itex]g_{\rho \sigma} \partial_{\beta}g^{\rho \nu}[/itex] , so they give 2 times the LHS, bring it there and you get:

[itex]g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu}-2g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu} =g^{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g_{\rho \sigma} [/itex]

[itex]-g_{\mu \nu} \partial_\beta g^{\mu \nu} =g^{\rho \sigma} \partial_\beta g_{\rho \sigma} [/itex]