1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Designing an outdoor electronic product (LED tree)

1. Jul 25, 2012 #1
    Hello,
    I thought I'd run this past you guys.

My wife wants to start making LED trees for outside use.
    I have been running a part time solar power business, but all my stuff comes assembled to a degree. I have no idea how electrical code might come into play regarding electrical construction from scratch.
    Someone told me that it doesn't matter a long as a certified power supply is used.
    So I am very curious about that, like I said, I have no experience selling home brewed electronics.

And then the actual design of these.... is there actually a method that is required as far as wiring, or is it just whatever works?
    I'm thinking copper or aluminum tree frame, and then wire all the LED's up, and wrap everything with green or brown fabric, then coat in a UV stable paint or epoxy.
    I was thinking of wiring the LED's, wire, and resistors up, using little pieces of tape to hold them in place until the "wrapping" goes over top.

12 or 24 v dc outdoor power supply and start cranking them out?

ANY input would be great!!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 25, 2012 #2

DaveC426913

Gold Member

Does the aluminum or copper structure of the tree have anything to do with the conductance of power to the lights?

If so, it sounds like what you've got there is a live 6 foot human bug zapper!

4. Jul 25, 2012 #3
    haha, no, just structural.

i guess what i want to know, is what materials need to be used on connections, etc, like heat shrink tubing, to make it safe and "legal"

?

5. Jul 25, 2012 #4

Danger

Gold Member