Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Difference between DC/AC coupling (Antennas)

1. Dec 13, 2016 #1
    Good evening everyone!
    Given that I have no experience in antenna physics or related areas, I'm studying a paper for a project I will be involved. It is an image sensor for THz e.m. waves and exploits micro-bowtie antennas to "capture" the signal and convert it through a standard CMOS imager.
    Now, some clever guys developed a sensor where at each pixel they engraved 2 bowtie antennas; one orthogonal to the other (like a cross) and in two different planes within a special substrate.
    According to what they wrote in the paper:

For one polarization of the THz impinging radiation, the incident wave directly excites the longer bowtie antenna named “DC (direct coupling) Antenna”. For the crossed polarization, radiation is coupled via a lower stack level antenna: “CC (capacitive coupling antenna)”.

I didn't find any explanation for this thing so I'm a little bit puzzled. If someone has familiarity with antenna-related stuff, please, I need you. ;)

Enjoy your day! Bye

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 13, 2016 #2

tech99

Gold Member

It sounds as if the bow tie called DC is connected to the detector directly whilst the other one is coupled via some capacitance existing in the arrangement. This might be a cleaner physical layout than connecting both directly. The capacitive coupling might also be used to introduce some phase shift, which will be needed if it is desired to obtain circular polarisation.

4. Dec 13, 2016 #3
    Mmm..very interesting..thank you so much. You helped me in understanding a little bit. For the DC coupling so far so good. For the other one, what do you mean that it could be a cleaner layout solution and that a phase shift could provide circular polarization? I don't see that thing of phase shift that you have in mind..