Differentiating exponential functions

In summary, Dick is looking for help with differentiate and is uncertain about whether or not the three equations he has are correct. He is also having trouble understanding how to graph functions.
calculusthis
k guys.. i'd like to try to figure out how to get to the derrivatives on my own so really just looking for a right or wrong.
1. f(x) = e^(3x^2+x) find f'(2)

f'(x) = e^(3x^2+x) * (6x+1)

f'(2)= e^(3(2)^2+2) * [6(2)+1]
f'(2)=13e^14 ... correct?2) find slope of the tangent to the function f(x) = 2^(x^2+3x) when x=3

f'(x) = (2x+3) 2^(x^2+3x) ln2

f'(3)= [2(3)+3] 2^[3^2+(3)(3)] ln 2
f'(3) = 1 635 339.37 ... correct?3) y = xe^(2x)
y' = 2x^2e^(2x) + e^(2x) ... correct?4) f(x) = 3^x + x^3
f'(x= 3^x ln 3 + 3x^2 ... correct?5) y= e^-(2x+5)
y' = e^(-2x-5) * (-2) ... correct?6) y = e^(3x^2-5x+7)
y' = e^(3x^2-5x+7) * (6x-5) ... correct?If anyone can quickly tell me if these are differentiated correctly it would be very helpful. I'm new to doing this type of work and find myself second guessing most my results.
thanx for any help.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
They look fine.

For #3, you could factor out e2x.

Added in Edit:

Well ... Dick is right, there is a problem with #3.

Last edited:
I would check (3) again.

thanx guys... did you mean there's a problem with 3 other than i didnt factor out the e^2x?

I've been trying to work 3 differently but keep coming up with the same.. could someone show me where I'm going wrong please?

calculusthis said:
I've been trying to work 3 differently but keep coming up with the same.. could someone show me where I'm going wrong please?

Your first term in 3 should be x time the derivative of e^(2x). What's the derivative of e^(2x)?

the derivative of e^(2x) is... e^(2x)*(2x)..correct?

ohh wait i see.. just 2 not 2x lol

so the final answer should be y'=e^(2x)*(2x+1) ...?

calculusthis said:
ohh wait i see.. just 2 not 2x lol

You got it.