• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Differentiating exponential functions

k guys.. i'd like to try to figure out how to get to the derrivatives on my own so really just looking for a right or wrong.

1. f(x) = e^(3x^2+x) find f'(2)

f'(x) = e^(3x^2+x) * (6x+1)

f'(2)= e^(3(2)^2+2) * [6(2)+1]
f'(2)=13e^14 ... correct?

2) find slope of the tangent to the function f(x) = 2^(x^2+3x) when x=3

f'(x) = (2x+3) 2^(x^2+3x) ln2

f'(3)= [2(3)+3] 2^[3^2+(3)(3)] ln 2
f'(3) = 1 635 339.37 ..... correct?

3) y = xe^(2x)
y' = 2x^2e^(2x) + e^(2x) .... correct?

4) f(x) = 3^x + x^3
f'(x= 3^x ln 3 + 3x^2 .... correct?

5) y= e^-(2x+5)
y' = e^(-2x-5) * (-2) ... correct?

6) y = e^(3x^2-5x+7)
y' = e^(3x^2-5x+7) * (6x-5) ... correct?

If anyone can quickly tell me if these are differentiated correctly it would be very helpful. I'm new to doing this type of work and find myself second guessing most my results.
thanx for any help.

Last edited:

Answers and Replies

SammyS
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
They look fine.

For #3, you could factor out e2x.

Added in Edit:

Well ... Dick is right, there is a problem with #3.

Last edited:
Dick
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
I would check (3) again.

thanx guys... did you mean there's a problem with 3 other than i didnt factor out the e^2x?

I've been trying to work 3 differently but keep coming up with the same.. could someone show me where I'm going wrong please?

Dick
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
I've been trying to work 3 differently but keep coming up with the same.. could someone show me where I'm going wrong please?
Your first term in 3 should be x time the derivative of e^(2x). What's the derivative of e^(2x)?

the derivative of e^(2x) is... e^(2x)*(2x)..correct?

ohh wait i see.. just 2 not 2x lol

so the final answer should be y'=e^(2x)*(2x+1) ...?

Dick
Science Advisor
Homework Helper