Do charges always lie on the inner surface of capacitors?

In summary: I am just studying undergraduate level physics (eg University Physics level). It seems to me that you are discussing the 2 plate situation, which I see why charges would all lie on 1 side of the plate. Does Gauss's law still apply if the charges are on both sides of the plate?In summary, Gauss's law still applies if the charges are on both sides of the plate.
phantomvommand
Parallel plates A, B are 5mm apart, with charges +1C and -1C respectively. Parallel plates C, D are 2mm apart, with charges +1C and -1C respectively. Capacitor CD is slid between capacitor AB. Find the potential difference between AB.

The key idea to solving this problem is to suppose that +1C lies on the inner surface of A, thus, -1C is induced on the outer surface of C. Since C has charge +1C, its inner surface charge is +2C. Following this logic, D has inner surface charge of -2C, outer surface charge of +1C, B has inner surface charge of -1C.

My question is: Why must all the +1C charge lie on the inner surface of A? Why can't some of it lie on the outer surface of plate A?

Physics news on Phys.org
After sliding the second capacitor in and waiting a short time you have an electrostatic situation. The key thing to remember is that in electrostatics the charges arrange themselves so that there is no E field in the conductor.

Likes DaveE and vanhees71
Dale said:
After sliding the second capacitor in and waiting a short time you have an electrostatic situation. The key thing to remember is that in electrostatics the charges arrange themselves so that there is no E field in the conductor.
Thanks for the reply. Could you please elaborate on this further? If I have charges that lie on both the outer and inner surface of plate A, there is still 0 electric field in plate A. Why must all the charges lie only one 1 surface then?

phantomvommand said: