Can MWI and String Theory Coexist?

In summary: However, many physicists believe that there are other, even more fundamental theories that could be true and that could be better descriptions of reality.
singleton
Do MWI and String theory conflict? (sorry--I'm a layman)

Hey,

Well basically I've been skimming over lots of different multiverse theories and as I don't have a science background (total layman) my question is basically can these two theories co-exist or do they not leave room for each other in the way that they fit in?

If they can co-exist is it a questionable one, near definite, etc. Please spell it out for this noobie :D

I don't even know what MWI point of view that I mean (as I don't know the difference between Everett and Deutch if any and where Tegmark fits in).

I'm interested to know if both of the theories can fit (if at all). Thanks :)(Administrator: If this is the wrong forum, please move it to the appropriate one.)

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
singleton said:
Hey,

Well basically I've been skimming over lots of different multiverse theories and as I don't have a science background (total layman) my question is basically can these two theories co-exist or do they not leave room for each other in the way that they fit in?

As far as I understand myself, string theory (in as far as it is already a theory, and not just some suggestions of how one might one day obtain a theory) is a specific (kind of) quantum theory. A specific *interpretation* (that means, how to give ontological and philosophical meaning to the elements of the formal theory) of quantum theory is the so-called "many-worlds interpretation" (of which there exist different flavors) ; there are other interpretations of quantum theory too, but they all have something odd to themselves and none is 100% satisfactory ; hence people talk about the "measurement problem" of quantum theory.