Do universities delete the webpages of professors who die?

• Thread starter Simfish
  • Start date
Simfish
Gold Member
And if they do, have there ever been exceptions? Sometimes, the webpages contain some really valuable content. :(

Answers and Replies

fss
Depends on the university.

Use the Internet wayback machine to get to it.

arildno
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
My webpage has not been deleted?? :confused:

Come to think of it, maybe because I'm not dead yet?
Or that I'm not a professor?

Or possibly because I don't have a webpage?

Many questions, few answers...

Evo
Mentor
My webpage has not been deleted?? :confused:

Come to think of it, maybe because I'm not dead yet?
Or that I'm not a professor?

Or possibly because I don't have a webpage?

Many questions, few answers...
:rofl:

mathwonk
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
There do not seem to be current pages for deceased profs at UGA math dept. We have to give our IT guys some kind of break. They are already supporting both active and retired faculty, ... dead ones too? I can't make that case. Some of us are already dead wood.

Harvard math dept's page does have a history link, where you can learn hiow to get copies of all POhD these back to the 19th century, and names of past profs, and even a handwritten copy of a 150 year old text or two, but not web pages of the departed.

Last edited:
arildno
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Dearly Missed
There do not seem to be current pages for deceased profs at UGA math dept. We have to give our IT guys some kind of break. They are already supporting both active and retired faculty, ... dead ones too? I can't make that case. Some of us are already dead wood.
:biggrin:

Ivan Seeking
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Old professors never die, they just lose their faculties.

I think the answer is yes. I looked for Newton's web page and couldn't find it. Galileo's is gone too. Maxwell, Einstein, you name it.

jtbell