Doppler effect to distance without using time-of-flight; can this be done?

In summary: As the target moves away from the radar, the frequency difference will increase, until it reaches a certain limit (0Hz?) where the measuring distance would be a function of the frequency difference. Its not 100% clear to me, but that's the gist of it.If you want more information on the theory, I suggest you look into some books on RF theory or physics.In summary, Ray Xu thinks that if you have a way to sweep the output frequency, you may be able to determine the distance to a target based on the doppler shift and the speed your bike is moving at. Mike has no way to do this and suggests looking into books on RF theory or physics if you want to extend the theory
Ray_Xu
Hey all,

I'm a newbie here with a question regarding doppler shift. Before I ask, I only have a very basic understanding of the doppler effect.

So, my big question is: can a doppler shift measurement be converted to the distance between the source and target, without using the time of flight method?

What I'm trying to do here is using this product http://www.parallax.com/Store/Sensors/ObjectDetection/tabid/176/CategoryID/51/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/606/Default.aspx I want it to determine the distance to a target, based on the output of that radar module. Its intended to be used as a proximity sensor, but the datasheet says it can also be used to measure speed via the doppler effect. It may sound crazy, but I'm planning to mount this onto my bike for my own useful and safety purposes; as well as to gain more experience working with radars and doppler shift. Since this is going to be mounted onto my bike, I will know the speed I'm/the radar is traveling at. Not all targets in the radar's view will be stationary (ex: cars, pedestrians, etc); FYI.