Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Earth fault in delta star (grounded) transformer

1. Dec 9, 2016 #1
    Hi,

I am studying transmission lines faults. There was a line that said
    In case of delta star transformer in transmission line, an earth fault on star (grounded) side is seen as a line to line fault on delta side.
    There was no explanation. I tried to google solutions but couldn't find any explanation.
    Here's the diagram
    upload_2016-12-9_12-2-59.png
    The cross is the L-G fault. Why is it seen as a line to line fault on delta side?

Thanks in advance...

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2016 #2

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Think simple.
    This is one of those rare occasions where an actual physical picture explains it better than a schematic drawing.
    Look at a real transformer.
    3phcore.jpg

Surely you see from your schematic that the L-N fault shorts out one secondary winding .
    Think in small steps now.

Which primary winding shares the same leg of transformer's iron core as the secondary winding feeding the L-N fault?
    Does the shorted secondary winding depress flux in that leg?
    Does that depressed flux suppress counter-emf in the primary winding on that leg?
    Is that leg's primary winding connected phase to phase?
    Does that absence of counter-emf result in high primary current in that leg, phase to phase?

hope that helps.

Last edited: Dec 9, 2016
  4. Dec 9, 2016 #3
    Thanks a lot for the reply and also the stepped response. Now I can discuss the points.
    upload_2016-12-9_23-4-44.png
    Which primary winding shares the same leg of transformer's iron core as the secondary winding feeding the L-N fault? Suppose fault occurs on Y-leg on star side.