Is Electrical Engineering Employment as Stressful as Schooling?

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of studying electrical engineering and the comparison between schooling and employment in the field. The speaker expresses their concerns about the difficulty of their courses and wonders if it will be the same in their future career. The response suggests that learning on-the-job may be less stressful than formal education, and that having a good manager can greatly impact the experience. It is also mentioned that continuing to learn and expand one's skills can lead to more opportunities for advancement.
pete5383
Hey everyone. This might be kind of a weird question, but something I've been thinking about. I'm in my second year of Electrical Engineering, talking basic Circuits courses, diff.Eq, and a Digital Design class, and I have to say, classes are wicked hard. I guess I expected this, but I did very well fairly easily my first year, and now I'm working my butt off pretty much non-stop. Anyways, I guess my question is this: how does actually working in the Electrical Engineering field compare to the schooling for it? I love EE and find it amazingly interesting, but is it going to be this stressful and time consuming my whole life? :bugeye: Haha. Anyways. I guess I was just wondering if anyone has some thoughts on how schooling and employment compare. Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
It doesn't always have to be so bad. In general, learning is harder than doing.

If you intend on achieving everything possible and advancing your career to the limit of current technology, you can expect to continue learning pretty steadily for the next 10 years or so after leaving school -- but learning on-the-job is not generally as stressful as learning in a formal setting, because it's more organic and less structured.