Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electric Field Propogation in LIGHT

1. Oct 13, 2013 #1

san203

Gold Member

Hello. I started studying wave optics a while back and here is my first question

From what i understand, electric field is a region where charged particles feel the coulomb forces.
    And light is basically time varying magnetic and electric waves being propagated in some medium or vacuum.

What i don't understand is how can something like an electric field be propagated in the first place?
    How can it move. Isnt it supposed to be a mathematical description of Force?
    Or is it something like introducing electric field at points in space with varying magnitude?
    I hope i have made my question as clear as possible. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2013 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

The FIELD isn't moving. The CHANGE in the field is.

4. Oct 13, 2013 #3
    The fields propagate by a mutual interaction of the time derivative terms in Faraday's law and Ampere-Maxwell's law. If that sentence didn't make sense, wait until you study Maxwell's equations, because they really are a fundamental prerequisite to the understanding of propagating EM waves.

5. Oct 13, 2013 #4

UltrafastPED

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

If you were to suddenly unshield an electric charge its field lines would propagate at the speed of light; if the source charge is an electron then the field lines will expand as radial lines from that point.

Now jiggle the electron, and watch what happens to the field lines: the lines will now originate from a new central point, but if you observe them at distance d=ct you will see the new old field lines "kink" as the charge moves to the new position - and then settle into the new configuration.