1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Electrical signals -- How do they actually propagate in real wires?

1. Aug 3, 2017 #1
    I am an electrical engineer, and I know that my question is not directly relevant to the pure Physics but anyway, my question is that how electric signals move inside wires? how to initiate the electrical signals knowing that in order for the electron to move in a circuit, we need a continuous voltage which is not the case in the signals.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2017 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Why is this not relevant to "pure physics"? The largest number of practicing physicists are in the field of condensed matter/solid state physics, which deals exactly with topics that include charge transport in solids.

To answer your question, electrical signals in a wire are transferred via the presence of mobile, "free-electrons" in the conductors. These electrons can easily be made to move or vibrate based on the electrical signals that are sent into one end of the conductor. The moving electrons then affect other electrons nearby, and this causes similar movement. This propagates along the wire, translating to the electrical signal at the other end of the wire. The electrons themselves may not move very far from their average position during this transfer of signal. So naively, one can imagine that all they do is simply relaying the information along the wire.

Zz.

4. Aug 3, 2017 #3
    thanks so much for your reply .. you have answered a part of my question .. the other part is that in a digital computer it is essential to understand the electrical signal.. how to initiate the signal

is it by applying a voltage at the end of the wire for an instant?

5. Aug 3, 2017 #4