Building an Electromagnet for a Unique Hourglass Project

In summary, Kenny built an electromagnet to hold ferric sand in an hourglass and attempted to control it, but found it difficult.
failbeams
I am starting a rather unique project and thought I would ask a few questions before I get too lost. Basically the project is to create an hour glass that can be controlled so the sand will go both down or up. My first thoughts were to use a series of electromagnets in a pulse series to lift the ferric sand up and begin forcing it through the center of the hourglass, while pulling the sand up with another electromagnet at the top of the glass. However, I have very little experience with electromagnets, and have never built one. To make it more complicated it must be able to run on a 110v system. I was hoping I could get some advice on how to create an electromagnet (or series of electromagnets) strong enough to move ferric sand approximately 10 vertical inches. By this I mean size, shape, any special materials (other than the obvious iron and copper wire of course). Also, will I need to make any special modifications to the circuit in order to run on 110v other than resistors? Any help would be appreciated.

-Kenny

Physics news on Phys.org
failbeams said:

It's a nice idea. I think there are some hurdles ot overcome, the main one I can see is that as you suck the ferric sand with a magnet it will magnetise each particle so you will end up with them all sticking to each other. You may end up with a long thread of this ferric sand going up through the neck.

This looks hard, as the "sand" will itself modify the field. I think you may find this very difficult to control.

I see two problems with this:

1) A uniform magnetic field (without gradient) will not attract a grain of ferric sand. The uniform field will produce a torque if the grain is not round (or if it has a dipole moment).