Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Electroplating - radioactive materials in my drawer?

1. Apr 12, 2017 #1
    Hello! I'm a high school science teacher who was recently switched to teaching physics for the first time mid-year.

I remember doing an electroplating demonstration in my gradeschool days for a science fair. It was fascinating and now I want to give my students a chance to do some hands-on science with this very useful process.

This is the website I liked the best because of its simplicity in materials and procedure: https://www.homesciencetools.com/a/electroplating-science-project

I began to check for materials in the old backroom of the physics classroom and found a huge cache of copper and iron electrodes. The trouble is, I also found a plastic container filled with what looks like zinc or iron electrodes, but the container has a Radioactive Material warning on it! I'd attach a picture I took but this forum wants an image url and I don't remember my ancient photobucket password...

My questions (at this moment) are: What could this material be? Why is it radioactive? Is it safe to leave uncovered in a drawer for so long? Is it a joke? What should I do about it (if anything)?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 12, 2017 #2

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I would suggest that you press the big red button and refer this up the line to your manager and safety rep. Historically, schools had a massive amount of substances that are not needed for modern courses and which are potential Chemical or Radioactive hazards. They are not part of modern syllabi.
    In the UK, at least, if you find a potential hazard it is a legal requirement that you report it. It won't matter if the stuff you have found is harmless.

4. Apr 12, 2017 #3

Nidum

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

5. Apr 13, 2017 #4

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper