1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Energy needed to push a volume of water

1. Mar 2, 2014 #1
    Hello! I just found this website and it looks amazing! I'm not a scientist or anything, but I love it (should've studied physics but oh well), so I think it will be fun and useful for me to join this forum.

I am trying to solve a situation, where I'd like to know how much energy would be needed to push a mass of water out of a container. Here's an image to help understand:

http://imageshack.com/a/img21/6856/1m7e.png [Broken]

The container has a height of 3 meters, length of 5 meters, and width of 3 meters. If a device, much like a coffee press but watertight, pushes the water with only the hole on top of the container, as shown in the drawing, as an exit point, how much energy would be needed for that device to go all the way to the other side of the container? Assuming the hole is 1 square meter, if that can help.

If there is a formula that would enable me to figure this out, that is all I'm asking, I can try and do the math myself, but I can't figure out where to start!

I realise it's an odd situation or post, but it has been bugging me for a while!

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 2, 2014 #2
    Hi Lucini. Welcome to Physics Forums!!!

The answer to your question depends on how fast you push the piston. If you push it very slowly, then very little energy will be required because the water will ooze out the hole. If you push it fast, the velocity of the water out the hole will be faster, and you will have to do a little work to accelerate it out the hole. However, with a huge hole like that, the amount of work will still be very little.

Chet

Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  4. Mar 2, 2014 #3