Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Engine combinations

1. Aug 28, 2006 #1
    Hi all,

I am writing a course for budding engineers. I have been a marine engineer for long. While compiling my course I seem to have hit a roadblock that has made me aware of my ignorance in spite of my experience. I would like some help on this from anyone.
    I have classified diesel engines as follow:
    there are 5 major categories:

1. Operating feature
    2. Cylinder arrangement
    3. Piston connection
    4. Piston action
    5. Speed

the sub-categories for each of the above will be:
    1a. 2-stroke
    1b. 4-stroke

2a. Horizontal
    2b. Vertical
    2c. Inline
    2d. Vee
    2e. Radial

3a. Trunk type
    3b. Crosshead type

4a. single-acting
    4b. double-acting

5a. Slow speed
    5b. Medium speed
    5c. High speed

From the above, what are the possible configurations? I mean, can we have a 1a, 2a, 3a, 4a, 5a engine? and likewise. I would like to present it to my students with examples. Can anybody help?
    Thanx
    Abid

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 29, 2006 #2

Danger

Gold Member

Unfortunately, I'm not a Diesel guy. If the subject was gasoline motors, or if I wasn't so burned out, I'd take a shot at it now. Since it's so interesting, though, I'll dive in after some sleep. Good topic.

4. Aug 29, 2006 #3
    normal, supercharged , turbo charged

5. Aug 29, 2006 #4

brewnog

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Off the top of my head:

- Any charge cooling
    - Direct injection versus indirect injection
    - Type of fuel injection equipment
    - Type of cycle the engine operates on
    - Type of fuel the engine uses

There are many other factors which you could classify Diesel engines by.