Engineing Help: Controllable Powerheads for Aquariums

In summary: You need a soft starter for your motor. They are not available for motors of that size. You need a low wattage power supply to slow the pump motor just above stall.
gajopo
The application may seem trivial, but I need to control an aquarium powerhead (pump). I'm an elevator adjuster by trade and have no problem understanding schematics and scouring datasheets but am by no means an electrical engineer.

My issue simplified, controllable powerheads cost 8-10X the cost of the same flow 120vac single speed synchronous pumps. Their ac counterparts are simple, two coils, one with a few extra turns to get the permanent magnet impeller to turn in the desired direction. Problem is with the interval timing circuit I am using the causes the pumps to "chatter" upon excitation stressing my much loved salt water inhabitants. Yes I could spend 1500$ on Tunze controllable pumps with a controller, but I like the 150$ approach better if possible.

What I would like to accomplish is a circuit that would supply 60hz during their "on" state and 1-59hz during their "off" state, slowing them to near their synchronous stall state (1-59hz, maybe 17hz??...). 60Hz is simple as I am doing that now.

How can I make a 120vac (+- 40v) 1-59Hz power supply? I have been scouring the internet for days and decided to just start posting were someone with the knowledge may see this and give me something I can plug into Electronics Workbenches MultiSim for trial and error.

For those of you who may care, a Hydor Koralia 4 (What I'm using) costs 30$. A Tunze Stream starts at 329$ plus the 12vdc controller. Both pump water, one just capitalizes on control via a large price hike.

Any input is greatly appreciated!
Gary

Engineering news on Phys.org
When you say interval timing circuit, is it just a circuit to turn them on and off at different times during the day?