Engineering or something more?

• Engineering
  • Thread starter raddian
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary: This is where choosing a specific engineering discipline, such as electrical or mechanical, can be beneficial in terms of career prospects. While math and physics may offer a strong foundation in scientific principles and problem-solving skills, they may not be as applicable in certain industries or job roles.In summary, while math and physics may offer a lot of opportunities for learning and discovery, the job market for pure mathematicians and physicists is relatively small compared to that of engineers. Engineers are needed in a variety of industries and job roles, making it a more practical choice for those seeking a career in the STEM
raddian
I am a freshman mechanical engineering. I have been exposed, to some extent, mechanical/materials, robotics(electrical), and I'm headstrong about not doing civil. I considered computer science, but I'm glad I didn't because it seems that not much calculus (math) is required for the major. I do not enjoy metals/materials.. I just find them boring (I'm taking a job under a mechanical/material scientist and we're studying material properties, so I can safely say I'm not interested in materials). I chose mechanical because of its broadness and career safety. Now, I plan on switching to electrical because it interests me more (how can I even say this statement, given that I don't know anything about engineering disciplines?) Also, I noticed some CS classes sprinkled into ECE so I'm leaning towards ECE.

I'm also leaning towards Physics and Math... The problem is neither ECE, Physics, or Math is a strength of the college I attend. This college is big on mechanical and civil engineering.