Engineing Physics vs. EECS: Pros and Cons

In summary: There's no escaping it. But if you enjoy it and it's what you're passionate about, that's all that matters.
zcd
I'm currently a first year undergrad planning to go into Engineering Physics major. The reason I chose this major was because I'm unsure of what type of engineering I want to focus on and I have a fairly strong interest in physics, but I know that I want to do some sort of engineering related field in the future. My question is: what's the difference in graduating with a degree in Engineering Physics and focus on some particular type of engineering (say for example electrical engineering) rather than having that specific engineering degree (EECS)?

I've also spoken with some engineer graduates from various colleges and one common trend I hear is that a lot of engineering graduates tend to enter consulting and finance fields. Will it be more advantageous for me if I major in Engineering Math and Statistics instead for the math background, since I might not be doing an engineering job anyway?

Physics news on Phys.org
zcd said:
My question is: what's the difference in graduating with a degree in Engineering Physics and focus on some particular type of engineering (say for example electrical engineering) rather than having that specific engineering degree (EECS)?

Licensure, accreditation, and having to explain why you didn't do an engineering degree during a job interview. If you want to be an engineer and can still enter an undergraduate engineering program, you should do that.

I've also spoken with some engineer graduates from various colleges and one common trend I hear is that a lot of engineering graduates tend to enter consulting and finance fields.