Learn English Orology: Resources & Connections

• Thread starter Kostas Tzim
  • Start date
  • Tags
    English
In summary: Eg one can say that the eigenvalues of an operator are real, the conjugate...In summary, this conversation is about the different aspects of terminology.
Kostas Tzim
Hey folks, I am a greek high student, and I want to write and share my ideas about science the only problem is that i don't know the orology to use in order to explain myself..Do any of you know a site ( i don't trust google translate) that i can do this job...? thanks in advance i would also like to meet people with same interests as me...dont hesitate to contact with me it would be a pleasure :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi fellow greek. :)
This is difficult to explain. The orology is mainly "english", so knowing the language can help (knowing greek can also help)... Further try reading physics in english literature to help you clarify how to use the words in the appropriate way (it helped me)...
Most of the times, people are going to define what they mean with their orologies... and thus you will easily learn the translation of greek to english...
google translator is only good for the very basic stuff, and it won't help for scientific words...

yeah that's what i thought too...any suggestions for books? A friend of mine sent me the book via google drive: "University Physics with modern physics 13th edition" its a huge books and kind of hard to study through a monitor... ;/

Thanks for you response i appreciate it :)

It depends on what you want to study... studying university physics while you are still a high school student is (itself) challenging - because most books are asking for the reader to know the mathematics. There are many books which can be a little helpful, such as Young's as your friend suggested.