Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

English orology

1. Nov 17, 2014 #1
    Hey folks, im a greek high student, and I want to write and share my ideas about science the only problem is that i dont know the orology to use in order to explain myself..Do any of you know a site ( i dont trust google translate) that i can do this job...? thanks in advance i would also like to meet people with same interests as me...dont hesitate to contact with me it would be a pleasure :)

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2014 #2

ChrisVer

Gold Member

Hi fellow greek. :)
    This is difficult to explain. The orology is mainly "english", so knowing the language can help (knowing greek can also help)... Further try reading physics in english literature to help you clarify how to use the words in the appropriate way (it helped me)....
    Most of the times, people are going to define what they mean with their orologies... and thus you will easily learn the translation of greek to english...
    google translator is only good for the very basic stuff, and it won't help for scientific words...

4. Nov 17, 2014 #3
    yeah thats what i thought too...any suggestions for books? A friend of mine sent me the book via google drive: "University Physics with modern physics 13th edition" its a huge books and kind of hard to study through a monitor... ;/

Thanks for you response i appreciate it :)

5. Nov 17, 2014 #4

ChrisVer

Gold Member

It depends on what you want to study... studying university physics while you are still a high school student is (itself) challenging - because most books are asking for the reader to know the mathematics. There are many books which can be a little helpful, such as Young's as your friend suggested.