Enjoyment vs fascination: which is more important?

• Thread starter diligence
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Important
In summary, the conversation is about trying to decide whether to dedicate studies to math or physics. There is a discussion about the importance of enjoying what you study versus being fascinated by it. Some suggest pursuing both subjects and broadening studies. It is mentioned that for graduate school, one will eventually have to choose a specific subject. The conversation also touches on personal preferences and the idea of using one subject as an "excuse" for studying another.
diligence
I'm trying to decide whether i should dedicate my studies to math or to physics. I find that physics is utterly fascinating and tends to excite me more than math. But when I'm studying, i actually enjoy doing mathematics more than doing physics. So I've narrowed my decision down to the question of whether it's more important to enjoy what you study, or if it's more important to be excited/fascinated by what you study.

What do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org
it's most important to have a job, so you can eat. Then you can study all sorts of things.

Which is more important to you :)

enjoyment. Fascination seems more likely to come and go. I have known two math and physics double majors already who say they feel more comfortable with math.

Just imagine being fascinated with basketball and not enjoy playing it (or training for it).

But I guess this isn't a very good analogy since you did not say that you don't enjoy physics.

Last edited:
llynne said:
it's most important to have a job, so you can eat. Then you can study all sorts of things.

I heard starvation makes the most out of people. (look at Abel, most of his life he was pennyless, almost).

Pengwuino said:
Which is more important to you :)

pretty sure i established the fact that I'm not sure yet ;)

edit: well, maybe not...but cmon, isn't it obvious :)

Headacheguy said: