Enrolling in a Graduate Physics Program with an Architecture Degree

In summary, it is possible to enroll in a graduate program in physics with an undergraduate degree in architecture. Some programs may accept students from related disciplines, such as electrical engineering, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, or applied mathematics. Good grades in relevant coursework, such as calculus and introductory physics, can strengthen the application. Additionally, scoring above 60-65% on the physics GRE or qualifying exam is recommended. It is also possible to enroll as a special student and take undergraduate courses to enhance the graduate school application. However, it may be necessary to take additional undergraduate courses as preparation for graduate coursework.
Kat3011
Hello,
Is it possible to enroll in a graduate program in physics if I have an an undergraduate degree in architecture? Or is an undergraduate degree in physics- or in a related field- required to qualify?
(Assuming that I have studied extensively physics (alone) while obtaining my degree in architecture)

Physics news on Phys.org
Some programs will accept students from related disciplines into their graduate physics programs. Usually electrical engineering, maybe aerospace engineering, maybe mechanical engineering or applied mathematics are also considered.
Architecture is interesting. In my experience, the architecture majors were some of the hardest working graduates I ever met in graduate school. You may be able to convince using your application, that your background coursework makes you an acceptable candidate. I figure it is likely that in your architecture program, you probably needed courses in calculus, and some introductory physics, and maybe classical mechanics and possibly some engineering courses. Good grades in these courses would bolster your argument.