Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Entrainment Coefficient - Dynamics of Fluids

1. May 11, 2017 #1
    Hi all,

i ask in advance sorry for my bad english, i hope you will understand my question.

I'm studying the motion of a plume fluid in a fluid ambient, with ρ(plume) > ρ(ambient).
    Afterwards there si a transport of fluid ambient as an effect of the turbolence caused by the viscosity between the two fluids.
    This is, somehow, featured by the Alpha coefficient (entrainment)

My request is: can you explane to me, what physically represent this number? What i have to imagine when i want to figure out the entrainment? Wich is the formule?

Thank for your time!

2. jcsd
  3. May 16, 2017 #2
    Thanks for the thread! This is an automated courtesy bump. Sorry you aren't generating responses at the moment. Do you have any further information, come to any new conclusions or is it possible to reword the post? The more details the better.

4. Oct 4, 2017 #3

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

This is a rather niche topic within fluid mechanics. Have you tried checking out any relevant research papers or textbooks on the topic?

5. Oct 4, 2017 #4
    Hi, thanks for your reply! Yes, I did read those:

Effect of Background rotation in turbulent line plumes
    H. J. S. Fernando and C. Y. Ching

Development of a point plume in the presence of background rotation
    H. J. S. Fernando, R-r. Chen, and B. A. Ayotte

The motion of Turbulent thermal in the presence of background rotation

Barbara Anne Ayotte and Harindra J. S. Fernando

I think i did understand what the entrainment is, but i dont its formula. I mean, i dont know its definition.

6. Oct 4, 2017 #5

boneh3ad

Science Advisor
    Gold Member