Experimental physics for theoreticians

In summary: So, as I said before, the best you can do is studying about experimental methods in a particular field and that will give you some intuition that helps you have an idea of what people do in other fields. In summary, the conversation is about someone looking for a book or book series that covers the general principles and techniques of experimental physics in all branches. They are not interested in practical technical details and only want a summary of the content. Several recommendations are given, including books on physical methods of organic chemistry and physical methods of chemistry, as well as books on data analysis and designing experiments. The person is advised that their request may be unrealistic and they may need to study about experimental methods in a particular field to gain a better understanding.
Demystifier
Science Advisor
Insights Author
Gold Member
I am a theoretical physicist who would like to learn more about experimental physics. I will not work in a laboratory, so I do not need practical technical details. What I need are the general ideas and principles of various experimental techniques. Also, I don't want a book dealing with only one branch of physics (say only optics, or only nuclear physics). I want a book (or perhaps a book series) dealing with more-or-less all branches of experimental physics. Can someone recommend such a book or books?

Likes yucheng and ShayanJ
Physics news on Phys.org
Techniques of organic chemistry, volume 1: Physical methods of ...
onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/pol.1962.../abstract
John Wiley & Sons
by NG Gaylord - ‎1962
Mar 10, 2003 - Techniques of organic chemistry, volume 1: Physical methods of organic chemistry, Part III, 3rd ed. Edited by Arnold Weissberger. Interscience ...
Physical Methods of Chemistry
https://books.google.com/books?isbn=047154406X
Bryant W. Rossiter, ‎John F. Hamilton, ‎Roger C. Baetzold - 1993 - ‎Chemistry