Exploring Electrical Engineering from a Mechanical Engineering Background

In summary: It may be difficult to get into graduate school with a Bachelors in ME, but it is possible. You may have to retake some undergraduate courses in electrical engineering to prepare for graduate school.
stargazer2357
Hallo everyone
I am studying electrical engineering,I have chosen electrical engineering because I was really excited about the electromagnetic theory ,electromagnetic waves,quantum mechanics ,and topics like fiber optics , optoelectronics ,and quantum electronics.

I have never liked circuits and mostly electrical engineering involves a lot of circuits,I don't feel inspired when I look at them ,I knew that it would be a major issue but a thought that
I would just like them, but I really don't.

I am thinking of becoming a mechanical engineer ,it doesn't involve the electromagnetic theory but it's not really bad it involves thermodynamics, classical mechanics,and fluid mechanics.

After I graduate is it possible to get an MS and a Phd in elctrical engineering ,I would love to do research related to electromagnetic waves, photonics...etc

How does my plan sound and is it really possible to get an MS and a Phd in EE starting from a BS in mechanical engineering

Please help me out ,sorry for putting such a long post ,thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you like E&M but don't enjoy circuits, have you considered majoring in Physics? That would seem to fit your interests better than ME. And no, I don't think you would set yourself up well for any MS or PhD in EE without a BSEE.

I'm going to move this to the Academic Guidance forum, since it can involve multiple possible majors, not just engineering.

What about engineering physics?

I would suggest Physics or Engineering Physics.

Is there a reason you have ruled out Physics from your list of possible majors?