Exploring the Forms of Quantum Mechanics Operators

In summary, the operators associated with observables in quantum mechanics are derived from the Schrodinger equation.
neutrino
I'm new to quantum mechanics, i.e. the type of QM you don't learn through books by Brian Greene :biggrin: . I know there aren't any derivations for an operator associated with an observable and they are usually defined in a certain form. So why do they have those particular forms. Was it trial and error method? Or any other reason(s)? I'm still a bit rusty with my understanding of basic QM, so please be gentle. :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
There aren't any derivations for operators associated with observables? I'm afraid I can't really understand your question. Which book are you using?

- Warren

Actually, I was just skimming through the first few pages of a book by F.Mandl (the author of the QFT and Stat.Phy books) titled Quantum Mechanics. It says...
"It is of course not possible to derive the operators which represent observables in any fundamental way from classical mechanics. However, a simple prescription exists which establishes the bridge between the classical quantities and the operators." After that it goes on to give the operators for the position and momentum.

I guess I should have inserted that classical mechanics part, too.

Well, all dynamical quantities can be expressed in terms of position and momentum. The momentum operator is

[tex]\hat p = \frac{\hbar}{i} \frac{\partial}{\partial x}[/tex]

(and the position operator is trivial).

The general "prescription" to go from a classical description to a QM description is thus to replace p with [itex]\hat p[/itex], then evaluate the operator as usual.

- Warren

chroot said:
Well, all dynamical quantities can be expressed in terms of position and momentum. The momentum operator is

[tex]\hat p = \frac{\hbar}{i} \frac{\partial}{\partial x}[/tex]

(and the position operator is trivial).

- Warren