Finding a useful denial

• Thread starter ver_mathstats
  • Start date
In summary, the useful denial for the given statements is (∃x∈U)(¬Q(x)∧¬P(x)) and (∀x∈U)(¬Q(x)∨¬P(x)), with an implication stating that if Q is true then P is false and vice versa.
ver_mathstats

Homework Statement

Let U be universe under consideration, let P(x) and Q(x) be predicate with free variable x. Find a useful denial.

1. (∀x∈U)(Q(x)∨P(x))
2. (∃x∈U)(Q(x)∧P(x)). Use implication afterwards.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

[/B]
My answer for 1 is:

(∃x∈U)(¬Q(x)∧¬P(x))

My answer for 2 is:

(∀x∈U)(¬Q(x)∨¬P(x)), and the implication would be if Q is true then P is false.

I am unsure of if the implication is correct as I am new to this.

Are my answers correct?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
ver_mathstats said:

Homework Statement

Let U be universe under consideration, let P(x) and Q(x) be predicate with free variable x. Find a useful denial.

1. (∀x∈U)(Q(x)∨P(x))
2. (∃x∈U)(Q(x)∧P(x)). Use implication afterwards.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

[/B]
My answer for 1 is:

(∃x∈U)(¬Q(x)∧¬P(x))

My answer for 2 is:

(∀x∈U)(¬Q(x)∨¬P(x)), and the implication would be if Q is true then P is false.

I am unsure of if the implication is correct as I am new to this.

Are my answers correct?

Thank you.
Yes, this is correct. If Q is true, then P has to be false and vice versa: If P is true, then Q has to be false. They still can both be false.

fresh_42 said:
Yes, this is correct. If Q is true, then P has to be false and vice versa: If P is true, then Q has to be false. They still can both be false.
Thank you for checking it over.

1. What is a useful denial?

A useful denial is a form of denial that can be beneficial in certain situations. It involves acknowledging the truth of a situation, but choosing to focus on the positive aspects or finding a silver lining. This can help individuals cope with difficult situations and maintain a more optimistic outlook.