Forced oscillations and resonance (bis)

In summary, the conversation discusses a particular section of a book on mechanics and the difficulties the reader had with it. They came across a forum thread that did not answer their questions, but they were able to find the answer and share it for others who may have the same problem. The discussion includes equations and their interpretations, and ends with a correction to a statement made earlier.
giulioo
I'm studying from landau lifšits "mechanics". I had some troubles in section small oscillations-->forced oscillations, especially from eq 22.4 to eq 22.5

i searched the web and came across this:

https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/forced-oscillations-and-ressonance.488538/#post-3236442

this thread does not answer the questions i had. Now I know the answer but the thread is closed and I cannot reply. Therefore i write it here (hoping this is the correct place and that it will be helpful to someone). I'm answering question n 2) since the physical meaning of beta is (as any initial phase) just a traslation in time (question n 1) ).

first of all the general solution to equation 22.2 and 22.3 is 22.4:

$$ x=a \cos(\omega t+ \alpha) + \frac{f}{m (\omega^2-\gamma^2)} \cos (\gamma t +\beta)$$

L&L rewrites this in the form

$$ x= a' cos(\omega t + \alpha) + \frac{f}{m(\omega^2-\gamma^2)} [\cos (\gamma t +\beta)-\cos(\omega t+\beta)]$$
where
$$ a'=\frac{f}{m (\omega^2-\gamma^2)} \frac{\cos \beta}{\cos \alpha} + a $$

(note that a' is a function of ##\gamma##)
L&L does not write ##a'## but writes again ##a## (which is confusing). Now from this general solution he takes only the second addend as a particolar solution. then he takes the limit for ##\gamma \rightarrow \omega ##:
$$ \lim_{\gamma \rightarrow \omega} \frac{f}{m(\omega^2-\gamma^2)} [\cos (\gamma t +\beta)-\cos(\omega t+\beta)] = \frac{f}{2m\omega}t \sin(\omega t + \beta) $$