Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fortran 90 - Chess engine

1. Sep 18, 2008 #1

fluidistic

Gold Member

I'm just a very beginner when it comes to program and I have a question. I've read that some (old) chess engines are written in fortran so I know it's possible to create a chess engine using the fortran language. I wanted to know if someone has a link or a file providing the source of a chess engine which was written in fortran.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2008 #2

alphysicist

Homework Helper

Hi fluidistic,

It's not an old program, but you might be interested in looking at a program posted on comp.lang.fortran several months ago. If this link works, you can find the thread at

http://groups.google.com/group/comp...781e802adfc2?lnk=gst&q=chess#4f85781e802adfc2

or you can go to

http://groups.google.com/group/comp.lang.fortran/topics

and search the group for "chess". (In the thread itself, about five posts down there are some links that might be interesting, including an old paper by Shannon.)

The program itself is posted several times in the thread (being corrected as comments about it are made), and the final version of the program is posted at

http://samanddeanus.no-ip.org/chess.f90

where you can download the source file. (Of course, the browser does not display it properly.)

4. Sep 19, 2008 #3

fluidistic

Gold Member

Thank you alphysicist for having done the research. (I tried but wasn't that successful). Seems a bit too hard for me to understand it all but I'll do my best to understand it well and why not make it better then.

5. Sep 19, 2008 #4

alphysicist

Homework Helper

The good thing is that it is a relatively short program, so I think it would be easy to play around with, and to see how well any changes you make affect it. Unfortunately I am not much of a chess player, so I don't know how good it actually is.

6. Sep 19, 2008 #5