Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fortran77-- retrieve data from large source

1. Nov 18, 2016 #1
    I'm currently doing a chemical model of Titan's atmosphere and the simulation outputs several files (up to 1000) and I need to get an array of data out of them from a specific section labeled with a chemical name (i.e HC5N) that has an arbitrary number of values (usually above 100). I've seen this kind of question posted before however I'm new to programming and don't quite understand some of the jargon and the scope of previous posts that I've seen has been quite small.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2016 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

You'll have to give more details about the structure of the file.

4. Nov 18, 2016 #3
    The output file is as such:

CHEMA
    0.000000D00 0.000000D00...

CHEMB
    0.000000D00 0.000000D00...

there are a total of 459 different chemical species with 124 different points of data.

5. Nov 18, 2016 #4

Mark44

What you're calling "jargon" is probably the syntax of the language. A program that you write will need to open up to 1000 files generated by the simulation, and read the data from them. I suggest you do some research on the Fortran OPEN statement, as well as the READ statement and the FORMAT statement.

After you have done those things, see what you can come up with for code, and we'll take a look.

6. Nov 18, 2016 #5

Krylov

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

So, the simulation code is in Fortran 77 and it produces those output files. It is not yet clear to me what you like to do with the arrays that you wish to extract. Do these arrays serve as input of other computational Fortran code or would you like to use them for visualization, for example?