1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Friction, a sled, snow covered hill, sliding box

1. Oct 29, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Question Details:
    A rope attached to a 19.0 kg wood sled pulls the sled up a 18.0 kg snow-covered hill. A 9.0 kg wood box rides on top of the sled.

If the tension in the rope steadily increases, at what value of the tension does the box slip?

So far none of the answers I have tried has worked. I looked up the friction coefficients. μ=.50 (wood on wood)
    μ=.12 (wood on snow)

I have a midterm I am studying for on Friday. I am trying to grasp these types of problems unsuccessfully. Any help you can provide is deeply appreciated.

2. Relevant equations

Where do I go from here? I am stuck on how to proceed. The fact that I am using the net forces of two seperate objects is confusing me. I am not sure what to do with them (do I add the Fnet x together?. Also the fact that I do not have acceleration given is bothering me.

3. The attempt at a solution

Known
    fk=μkn
    ms=19.0kg
    mb=9.0kg
    μk=.06 (wood on snow)
    μs=.50 (wood on wood)
    n=m*g
    gx=9.8sinθ m/s2
    gy=9.8cosθ m/s2

(Fnetx)sled=T-fk-g
    = T-μkn-msg*sinθ=msax
    = T-μkmsg *cosθ-msg*sinθ=msax
    (Fnety)sled = n-g=msax
    = n-msg*cosθ=m*0
    n =ms*g*cosθ

(Fnetx)box = -fs-g = mbax
    =μs*mb*g*cosθ*mb*g*sinθ =mbax
    (Fnety)box= n - g
    = n - mb*g*cosθ=mbay
    = n - mb*g*cosθ=0
    n= mb*g*cosθ

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2008 #2

LowlyPion

Homework Helper

Welcome to PF.

I presume that θ = 18 and that it is not an 18 kg hill.
    Also I'm not sure whether your coefficients of friction are given as part of the problem or you are supplying them. But you haven't properly recorded it in your equations.