1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

From Celsius to Kelvin - why +273?

1. Aug 8, 2009 #1
    Hi,

I am puzzled by the use of the number 273 when converting from Celsius to Kelvin and vice versa.

I know that Celsius scale is based on ice point and steam point, whereas Kelvin scale is based on triple point of water, which is very very close to ice point.

I am a teacher and i was asked the above question by a student. My first gut impulse is that we assign numbers as a form of starting point for comparison. It is like asking why pi is 3.14.

But just to set my mind at ease, are there further deeper reasons how this number 273 is chosen?

Thanks all in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 8, 2009 #2

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

The zero on the Celsius scale is rather arbitrary. What makes the freezing point of water at standard pressure so special?

The zero on the Kelvin scale is anything but arbitrary. Absolute zero is a very special temperature. The reason for the 273.15 offset that is what is needed to make a temperature whose zero point is absolute zero have the same scale as the Celsius scale.

4. Aug 8, 2009 #3
    Hello

Centigrade scale has ice point (melting ice at 1 atm) and steam point (steam at 1 atm) taken for the scale, 0 degree celsius and 100 degree celsius respectively.

For Kelvin scale, its just that the scale starts from absolute zero ( the coldest temperature ). If absolute zero is in centigrade scale then its -273 degree celsius.

As for the pi question, I think that it is a constant for something to be true... lets say you know the area of a circle which is 78.6cm^2 with radius 5cm. To get 50cm^2 you need to multiply radius with radius and an unknown, which is pi.

Please correct me if im wrong thanks!