From PhD to Industry: Exploring a Career in Computational Mechanics

In summary, an engineer with a Ph.D. and experience in Computational Mechanics should be concerned that most job openings require experience with a specific software and application, and not coding experience directly. However, with a bit of networking and research, they should be able to find positions that fit their interests.
topcomer
Hi,

I'm an Engineer and a Ph.D. student in Applied Maths, working in the field of Nonlinear Finite Elements for Elasticity. I often think about my future career since, by now, I have a strong experience with coding FE in C++/Matlab/Mathematica, but no clue whatsoever about commercial black-box softwares for FEA. I'm worried about this, since most of the job vacancies from the industry (I'm not interested in pursuing the academic career) seem to require only experience with a specific software and application, and not to directly code FE.

Also, since my Ph.D. funding is actually a full employment at the university as a Reasearch Assistant (I'm in Europe), will I be considered as already having work experience after my graduation? I'm so fond of Computational Mechanics, that I believe any job in this area would probably fit my taste, the problem is that I have no idea what are the needs of people outside academia! How do I get more informations?

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
A PhD means you have the ability to learn. I am sure employees would recognize that.

Things in industry tend to be extremely field specific, but there are some general tendencies.

topcomer said:
I'm worried about this, since most of the job vacancies from the industry (I'm not interested in pursuing the academic career) seem to require only experience with a specific software and application, and not to directly code FE.