Fulfilling foreign language requirement questions?

• Thread starter Ascendant78
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Language
In summary, as a physics major, there is a requirement to have an intermediate level of foreign language for a BA. To minimize extra courses, the person is studying Spanish on their own. They have a few questions about placement tests, CLEP, the number of courses needed for intermediate level, and the benefits of knowing multiple languages in grad school and the field. Knowing German can be beneficial for studying or working in Europe, but the number of courses needed and the preference for German in the physics field may vary by university.
Ascendant78
I know that as a physics major, we are required to have an "intermediate level" fulfillment of a foreign language for our BA. However, since I am hoping to double major (physics/astrophysics or physics/engineering), the less extra courses I can take, the better. As such, I'm studying up on my Spanish on my own to try to have to take as few courses in foreign language as possible.

I did have a few questions that I wasn't sure about at this point. If anyone has any answers to them, that would be great:

1. Is there a placement test for foreign language that would allow you to skip to a higher level?

2. If I went the CLEP route, can I choose to not receive college credits for doing so? I ask because this would allow me to take more courses involving my majors without getting penalized financially for too many credit hours.

3. If there is no way to skip up to intermediate level, how many courses do you need to take in order to reach what is considered intermediate level in a foreign language?

4. Has anyone in grad school or post-grad seen any actual benefit to knowing German? I had heard previously that it is the preferred language for physics majors, but I am not sure how accurate that information was.