Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

General term for splitting of light into constituents

1. Dec 5, 2015 #1
    …… is the splitting of light into its constituent colors (wavelengths). Can I use the term ‘dispersion’ here? Or is ‘dispersion’ only restricted to splitting due to phase velocity/refraction differences of different wavelengths (prism)? If not ‘dispersion’, is there another general term that encompasses all type of splitting of light into component colours (irrespective of whether it’s via refraction, interference or whatever)? Many thanks for any help. (I’m a translator and I’m translating the sentence ‘Rozszczepienie światła to zjawisko rozdzielania się fali na składowe o różnej długości (barwie)’ from Polish into English.)

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 5, 2015 #2

DrClaude

Staff: Mentor

The correct term would be "decomposition," or (more precise in my opinion) "spectral decomposition."

4. Dec 5, 2015 #3

DrClaude

Oh, and my Polish is not very good, but maybe @Borek can help.

5. Dec 5, 2015 #4

Borek

Polish-English Dictionary of Science and Technology, WNT, Warszawa 1983, 7th ed.

rozszczepienie.jpg

6. Dec 5, 2015 #5
    Many thanks!

7. Dec 5, 2015 #6