Getting an engineering job with a non engineering major

In summary, the student is looking to change majors to stay in state and not have to pay for their tuition at University of Maryland. They are working with the school to see if there is any wiggle room in the policy, but have not had any success so far.
engineerhopeful
Hi all,

I am a student beginning my second semester of college in the spring. I am currently attending a community college and I am looking to transfer to the University of Maryland because it is in state tuition for me and they have my intended program of study, Aerospace Engineering. To transfer into their engineering program they have certain gateway course requirements that make or break your admission. In the case of engineering this is a B in Physics I, a B in Calculus II, and a C in Chemistry. Only allowing you to repeat one of these courses one time to achieve the required grade. In my case, I made the dumb mistake of taking the calculus based Physics I class my senior year of high school. Between my high school load and having to commute to class on top of that, I only got a C in the class and therefore have used my repeat this first semester (now I have a 98%). This meant that I had to get a B in Calc II the first time because I have used my repeat. Unfortunately I ended up with a 78 and some change this semester in Calc II and couldn't convince my instructor to push me over the edge. So therefore I am ineligible for the Engineering School at University of Maryland. I am currently working with them to see if there is any wiggle room in this policy with no success so far.