1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Green's function for a critically damped oscillator

1. Sep 10, 2011 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Consider critically damped harmonic oscillator, driven by a force F(t)
    Find the green's function G(t,t') such that x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to T solves the equation of motion with x(0) =0 and x(T) =0

2. Relevant equations
    x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to T

3. The attempt at a solution

Hi guys, im completely new to green's function.. need alot of help understanding the use, and how to use it >_<

I've been doing some readings and this is what i understand so far

x = [itex]x _{h}[/itex] + ∫G(t,t')f(t') dt'

i.e. G(t,t') will be the particular solution to the ode with F(t) = δ(t-t')

does this mean that I should let [itex]\ddot{x}[/itex] +2γ[itex]\dot{x}[/itex] + [itex]ω _{0}[/itex]² = δ(t-t') and solve this to get the green's function?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 10, 2011 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Yes. Except that there's a small typo in your expression. It should be

[tex]\ddot{x} +2\gamma\dot{x} + \omega_{0}^2 x = \delta(t-t^\prime)[/tex]

A nice way to solve the above equation is to write the RHS as the inverse of a Fourier transform, meaning the RHS becomes a harmonic function of time.

4. Sep 10, 2011 #3
    Hello! thanks for you reply! :)

yeah you are right, i missed out the x there

not sure if i got it right but on the RHS, i got [itex]\frac{1}{2\pi}[/itex][itex]\frac{1}{i(t-t')}[/itex][itex]e^{i\omega(t-t')}[/itex]+C

is this right?

oh and (d²/dt² + 2γd/dt + ω0²) G(t,t') = δ(t-t')
    so i should be solving as usual 2nd order ode to get my answer for homogeneous and inhomo am i doing the steps right?