Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Green's function for a critically damped oscillator

1. Sep 10, 2011 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Consider critically damped harmonic oscillator, driven by a force F(t)
    Find the green's function G(t,t') such that x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to T solves the equation of motion with x(0) =0 and x(T) =0

2. Relevant equations
    x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to T

3. The attempt at a solution

Hi guys, im completely new to green's function.. need alot of help understanding the use, and how to use it >_<

I've been doing some readings and this is what i understand so far

x = [itex]x _{h}[/itex] + ∫G(t,t')f(t') dt'

i.e. G(t,t') will be the particular solution to the ode with F(t) = δ(t-t')

does this mean that I should let [itex]\ddot{x}[/itex] +2γ[itex]\dot{x}[/itex] + [itex]ω _{0}[/itex]² = δ(t-t') and solve this to get the green's function?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 10, 2011 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Yes. Except that there's a small typo in your expression. It should be

[tex]\ddot{x} +2\gamma\dot{x} + \omega_{0}^2 x = \delta(t-t^\prime)[/tex]

A nice way to solve the above equation is to write the RHS as the inverse of a Fourier transform, meaning the RHS becomes a harmonic function of time.

4. Sep 10, 2011 #3
    Hello! thanks for you reply! :)

yeah you are right, i missed out the x there

not sure if i got it right but on the RHS, i got [itex]\frac{1}{2\pi}[/itex][itex]\frac{1}{i(t-t')}[/itex][itex]e^{i\omega(t-t')}[/itex]+C

is this right?

oh and (d²/dt² + 2γd/dt + ω0²) G(t,t') = δ(t-t')
    so i should be solving as usual 2nd order ode to get my answer for homogeneous and inhomo am i doing the steps right?

5. Sep 10, 2011 #4