Green's function for a critically damped oscillator

In summary: I'm not sure why that would make a difference.In summary, the author is looking for help understanding green's function and how to use it. They explain that the equation of motion is x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to t, where G(t,t') is the particular solution to the ode with F(t) = δ(t-t'). They explore using the Fourier transform to solve for G(t,t'), and find that G(t,t') = x_{h} + 1/2\pi ∫ (e^{iwt}e^{-iwt'}). However,
shyta

Homework Statement

Consider critically damped harmonic oscillator, driven by a force F(t)
Find the green's function G(t,t') such that x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to T solves the equation of motion with x(0) =0 and x(T) =0

Homework Equations

x(t) = ∫ dt' G(t,t')F(t') from 0 to T

The Attempt at a Solution

Hi guys, I am completely new to green's function.. need a lot of help understanding the use, and how to use it >_<

I've been doing some readings and this is what i understand so far

x = [itex]x _{h}[/itex] + ∫G(t,t')f(t') dt'

i.e. G(t,t') will be the particular solution to the ode with F(t) = δ(t-t')

does this mean that I should let [itex]\ddot{x}[/itex] +2γ[itex]\dot{x}[/itex] + [itex]ω _{0}[/itex]² = δ(t-t') and solve this to get the green's function?

Physics news on Phys.org
shyta said:
does this mean that I should let [itex]\ddot{x}[/itex] +2γ[itex]\dot{x}[/itex] + [itex]ω _{0}[/itex]² = δ(t-t') and solve this to get the green's function?
Yes. Except that there's a small typo in your expression. It should be

[tex]\ddot{x} +2\gamma\dot{x} + \omega_{0}^2 x = \delta(t-t^\prime)[/tex]

A nice way to solve the above equation is to write the RHS as the inverse of a Fourier transform, meaning the RHS becomes a harmonic function of time.

Hello! thanks for you reply! :)

yeah you are right, i missed out the x there

not sure if i got it right but on the RHS, i got [itex]\frac{1}{2\pi}[/itex][itex]\frac{1}{i(t-t')}[/itex][itex]e^{i\omega(t-t')}[/itex]+C