1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Guidance for post graduation in physics

1. Jun 25, 2011 #1
    I am a aerospace engineer with a passion for physics. I am planning to apply for grad schools for a MS or phd in either theoretical physics or astrophysics, but the universities doesn't seem to be happy with the fact that my graduation degree was a engineering one. I talked to few admission cells and they said that my application will be considered but their tone didn't look really positive.
    So are there any good universities that take people from background other than physics for higher education in it????

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 25, 2011 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Is the problem that they "don't like your background" or is the problem that you are not prepared for graduate work? How many physics classes have you taken, and how does that compare to physics majors at your school?

Schools do accept non-physics majors, but then they are faced with the problem of what to do with then for a year or two while they catch up.

4. Jun 25, 2011 #3
    Their prob seems that my background wont be helpful for my research in Physics. The classes that i took were not pure physics, it was totally applied physics such as fluid mechanics, aerodynamics etc, which compared to any physics major would be like like doing only 25% or less of what they do, so they believe it would be hard for me to catch up. I did asked them about the extra classes that can be taken up along with the course but they didnt replied to that one.
    Which are the universities that offer admission to non physics majors??

5. Jun 26, 2011 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor