Guidance for post graduation in physics

In summary: There is no rule that says you have to study physics after getting a degree in economics. However, it would be difficult to do research in physics if you don't have a physics background. Taking the GRE with physics as a subject may give you a boost in your score.
davegr8
I am a aerospace engineer with a passion for physics. I am planning to apply for grad schools for a MS or phd in either theoretical physics or astrophysics, but the universities doesn't seem to be happy with the fact that my graduation degree was a engineering one. I talked to few admission cells and they said that my application will be considered but their tone didn't look really positive.
So are there any good universities that take people from background other than physics for higher education in it?

Physics news on Phys.org
Is the problem that they "don't like your background" or is the problem that you are not prepared for graduate work? How many physics classes have you taken, and how does that compare to physics majors at your school?

Schools do accept non-physics majors, but then they are faced with the problem of what to do with then for a year or two while they catch up.

Vanadium 50 said:
Is the problem that they "don't like your background" or is the problem that you are not prepared for graduate work? How many physics classes have you taken, and how does that compare to physics majors at your school?.

Their prob seems that my background won't be helpful for my research in Physics. The classes that i took were not pure physics, it was totally applied physics such as fluid mechanics, aerodynamics etc, which compared to any physics major would be like like doing only 25% or less of what they do, so they believe it would be hard for me to catch up. I did asked them about the extra classes that can be taken up along with the course but they didnt replied to that one.