Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Harmonic Oscillator (not sure where to post)

1. Mar 1, 2012 #1
    I'm not understanding the following formula. I'm a computer programmer and was given a set of formulas to have an application to solve; however I'm not completely understanding how this works. I'm just looking for a step by step way to solve this and an explanation on why there are 3 assignment operators within the formula. This is the first I've seen of this kind. I plan to further my education in Physics, but this is above my head right now and I'm looking for some assistance.

F = ma = m(d^2x)/(dt^2) = -kx

Thanks in advance,
    Jamie

PS - I don't know how to work the super script or the fraction bar available. Sorry.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 1, 2012 #2

strangerep

Science Advisor

It's sloppy. Only the last pair constitutes the equation you must solve.

x is a function of time, m and k are constants (mass and stiffness).

So you must solve a differential equation like this:
    [tex]
    \frac{d^2x(t)}{dt^2} ~=~ - \omega^2 x(t)
    [/tex]
    where ##\omega := \sqrt{k/m}## .

If you're supposed to solve this by computer methods, the question should probably be asked over in the computing forum. Otherwise, the calculus forum.

(If this is homework, then ask in the homework forum.)

4. Mar 1, 2012 #3
    No this isn't homework; but as I read in the description of the formula that was given is that x was to be a variable in my computed method to represent the location of the object? But at the same time I thought the description given was a little more like Newton's Second Law. I'm new to the whole physics formulas into programming algorithms thing. So a little bit more a break down would be more efficient here. For example; plug some random values in and explain step by step how to solve it?

Thanks,
    Jamie

5. Mar 2, 2012 #4