Heat transfer between objects by conduction

In summary, the model assumes that contact resistance is negligible, and solves for the time needed for block B to reach a particular temperature.
Adrian Tung
Hi guys, I'm a 2nd year mechanical student currently taking heat and mass transfer. A question came up in my mind when I was looking into the conduction heat transfer.

If I put block B on block A where block A is 573K and block B is 303K. Is there any way that I can calculate the time required for block B to be heated to a certain temperature let's say 398K?
1661778412215.png

I understand that the conduction equation is Q/t = kA((T1-T2)/L). But I really wanted to know how can this be used to solve the problem above.
I would really appreciate it if anyone could help to clear my doubt.

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you think the temperatures in the two blocks will be uniform spatially during the equilibration? Are you familiar with the transient heat conduction equation?

Try making some simplifying assumptions as a first model:

Blocks with very large thermal conductivities ##k##, and reasonably sized blocks should imply spatial thermal gradients to be negligible. What this says is that the Temperatures ##T_A, T_B## are uniformly distributed throughout each block at any time ##t##.

For simplicity, assume conservation of energy between the two blocks (the two blocks are the entire system). What that means is the heat absorbed by block B from block A, is exactly the heat lost from block A.

$$ \cancel{ \Delta Q} = m_A c_{p_A} \Delta T_A + m_B c_{p_B} \Delta T_B = 0 \tag{1} $$

And for the dynamic portion try applying a surface energy balance at the interface of blocks A and B using a thermal contact resistance type model.

$$ m_B c_{p_B} \frac{dT_B}{dt} = \beta \left( T_A - T_B \right) \tag{2} $$

## \beta## is a parameter that would depend on the area of contact and the pressure of contact.