Help answer student question about infinity?

• B
  • Thread starter mishima
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Rope
mishima
TL;DR Summary
Choosing 1 from an infinite set
Hi, my background isn't mathematics but I was wondering how this kind of problem might be approached.

They have asked if there was a knot somewhere in an infinitely long rope, would the knot ever be reached if you iterated through the length hand over hand?

How could I start to tackle this problem using the language of math and sets?

Physics news on Phys.org
Not sure how one might approach this problem but one with a comparable twist is Hilberts infinite hotel.

As each new guest checks in. The other guests are asked to switch the next room. The new guest gets room one and room one’s guest moves to room two…

Veritaseum did a YouTube video on it and some extensions to the problem.

NOVA also has a short clip on it too:

Likes mishima
mishima said:
TL;DR Summary: Choosing 1 from an infinite set

Hi, my background isn't mathematics but I was wondering how this kind of problem might be approached.

They have asked if there was a knot somewhere in an infinitely long rope, would the knot ever be reached if you iterated through the length hand over hand?

Suppose that the knot is in a fixed place and you started at some place on the rope. You can reach the knot in a finite time. That is true even if you started going in the wrong direction. You could 10 steps in one direction, turn around and go 100 steps in the other, turn around and go 1000 steps in the original direction, turn around and go 10000 steps, etc. By alternating your direction that way, you would eventually reach the knot no matter how far away it was and even if you started in the wrong direction.

Likes Klystron and mishima
Interesting. So the knot is reached in finite time.